LibGuides at Priddy Library: SOWK 470 Social Work Research: Research Help

Scholarly vs Popular Articles

View this short presentation from the Wayne State University Libraries on how to tell if an article is scholarly (peer-reviewed). The presentation is best viewed in full screen mode.

Primary vs Secondary Sources

UMBC Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook - UMBC
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles. This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry + psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycARTICLES - UMBC This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO - UMBC This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) - UMBC
SocINDEX - UMBC This link opens in a new window
Web of Science - UMBC This link opens in a new window

General Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window

Project Muse
more...less...
Full text of recent issues of 200 journals from 30 scholarly publishers. Search the full text of articles from the entire collection or, using the advanced search, from individual titles. Use the advanced search to search by date, by combining terms, to find book reviews and creative writing. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines.

Core Journals

This list of journals was selected based on high Impact Factor as reported in the latest edition of Journal Citation Reports.

You can search for more journals by clicking on the "Journals " tab in Research Port, the Library's gateway to online databases and journals.

Research on social work practice - UMBC This link opens in a new window