SOWK 260/360: Social Welfare, Social Policy & Social Work: Data and Statistics

Provides data from the 35 member countries on a broad range of topics to help governments foster prosperity and fight poverty through economic growth and financial stability. Includes some data for other non-member countries as well.

Official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. Domains covered are agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals.

Features global development data for the 189 member countries by country, region, and indicator.

Global Health Observatory Data. Gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States

Data and research produced by the Administration for Community Living

Collection of data and resources provided by the Federal Inter-Agency Forum on Aging Related Statistics.

CDC data on key indicators of health and well-being among older adults

U.S. Social Security Administration

Alzheimer's Association

Lists over 30 diseases and health issues with links on data and statistics for each one.

Managed by the U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services. Includes various agencies, such as:Administration for Children and Families, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, National Institute on Drug Abuse and others. Also includes some state health data.

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Compiled by Childhelp (non-profit organization, providing a National Child Abuse Hotline)

From the Dept of Health and Human Services. Includes data on adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.

Published by the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (part of the National Institutes of Health).

Compiled by the National Institute on Drug Abuse.

Data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Transforming the understanding
and treatment of mental illnesses.

Data, Outcomes, and Quality

Online tool where data is collected to the Dept of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to produce annual housing and homeless reports.

HUD's annual report to Congress that provides nationwide estimates of homelessness, including information about the demographic characteristics of homeless persons, service use patterns, and the capacity to house homeless persons.

Sources of information on basic trends in poverty, welfare, and related issues

This organization provides many online data tools along with state profiles for demographics, early childhood, adolescent and family economic security statistics.

How poverty thresholds are assigned and what sources of income are used to determine poverty status