Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychopharmacology: Ebscohost Research Databases

Magazines vs. Scholarly Articles

Magazines:

•miscellaneous articles covering a wide variety of subject areas

•non-technical language

•articles submitted by writers or editors employed by magazine

Scholarly Peer-reviewed Journals

•reports of research carried in a particular subject

•written in language of the field

•bibliographic references given

•articles submitted by researchers and or experts in the field

•edited by referees, other experts, and editors

Find it

Find it with OLinks

  • Format the citation-make sure to check the citation because there can be errors
  • Look for the full text-Sometimes the articles will be links to another database 
  • Notice of UT owns the print copy- (Copies in your library)
  • Get a copy via Interlibrary Loan-Average of 3-5 days to receive materials

How do I get the article?

Articles can come in three forms:

  1. PDF Files that are downloadable, saveable, and printable (prefferable)
  2. HTML Files that are saveable or printable
  3. "Find It"-to see if it is owned in print or if it may have to be ordered in Interlibrary Loan

Which Ebsco Should I Choose

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection-is a comprehensicve database covering information in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychoatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (400 journals covered).

PsycARTICLES- from APA, produces scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It includes scholarly articles, journal articals, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Articles date as far back as 1894.

PsycCRITIQUES- from APA, fulltext book reviews on scholarly and professional books in psychology dating back to 1956.

PsycINFO- APA's renowned database for scholarly articles, book reviews, journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This is the largest collection of peer-reviewed literature in behanvioral and mental health. Dates back to 1600s.

Education Research Complete-Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. 

Eric  Access to full text documents is currently unavailable from the ERIC database for items with ED accession numbers. The provider for ERIC has disabled access to full text content including pdfs due to privacy concerns and is working to make pdf content available again. [mobile versionProvides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents.

Social Issues: Essential Primary Sources-These volumes include primary source documents which focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one of the following topics: Crime and Punishment; Environmental Issues; Family in Society; Gender Issues and Sexuality; Government, Politics, and Protest; Human and Civil Rights; Immigration and Multiculturalism; Medicine, Bioethics, and Health; Social Policy; and Terrorism.

Social Work Abstracts

--> Do a multidatabase search in EBSCOhost:

  1. Go to the top corner and clicking on "choose databases."          
  2. Check off the databases you want to search
  3. Success can be seen on the searching page by clicking the "show all" next to the search bar.