Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychopharmacology: Databases

How Do I... ?

Databases listed on this page are accessible via Research Port at the Shady Grove Library. Some databases may not be available remotely.

Helpful hints on how to search databases are available at Research Port Guide.

When off campus, you will need to sign in with your campus user ID to search the journals available via Research Port.

To login remotely do the following: 

 Choose your campus affiliation, i.e. University of Maryland, College Park. 

Enter your directory ID and password and click on Login.

If you are not affiliated with UMCP, you may need to login with your library ID card barcode number and your last name.

Related Databases

Abstracts in Social Gerontology

Database that covers social gerontology, including such subject area as the psychology of aging, elder abuse, and society and the elderly.

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible. This current release includes over 500 videos totaling roughly 540 hours.

Neurosciences Abstracts

Provides access to the scientific journal literature in neurosciences

Family Studies Abstracts

Family studies database comprised of 45,000 entries, covering such areas as marriage, divorce, and family therapy

Medline (EBSCO)

Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

The most authoritative and well-known index to educational, psychological, and vocational tests and measurements commercially published in the English language. The Mental Measurements Yearbook consists of full-text descriptive entries, references, and full-text critical reviews of more than 2,200 assessment tools..“Includes Tests in Print"

Persée

PERSEE, the website for scientific journals in social and human sciences, established by the Ministry of State Education, Higher Education and Research. The PERSEE website has as its mission the digitisation and online distribution of back collections of a vast corpus of periodicals. Wider availability of this rich scientific heritage will benefit French research by making it freely and publicly accessible.

Social Sciences Citation Index

Indexes over 17,000 journals by subject keyword, author name, journal title & author affiliation. Search author abstracts when available. Provides cited reference searching

Sociological Abstracts

Citations and abstracts for articles in over 1,700 journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Many records for key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article.

Violence & Abuse Abstracts

Database of 35,000 records that cover the subject of violence and abuse, including such areas as family violence, sexual assault, and emotional abuse.

Scholarly vs Popular Periodicals

Databases are used to identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of documents.