Skip to Main Content
Shannon and Michael Priddy Library
LibGuides at Priddy Library
Humanities
HIST 402 : The Eternal Struggle : The American South After 1865
Finding Primary Sources
Search this Guide
Search
HIST 402 : The Eternal Struggle : The American South After 1865: Finding Primary Sources
Dr. David Zimring
Welcome
Find articles
Finding Primary Sources
Citing Your Sources
Civil War Period
Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South - Duke University
Slavery (New-York Historical Society)
The Valley of the Shadow : Two Communities in the American CIvil War
Videos
Ethnographic Video Online
Civil Rights Period
Documenting the American South (DocSouth)
International Civil Rights Center & Museum
Oral Histories of the American South - Documenting the American South
Separate is not Equal - Brown vs Board of Education
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection (Cornell University)
Southern Historical Collection
Historical Newspapers
African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives)
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 (Choose as a subset of America’s Historical Newspapers)
Historical Black Newspapers
This link opens in a new window
Nation Digital Archive - USG
This link opens in a new window
New York Times (1851-2008) (Historical Newspapers)
Washington Post (1877-1996) (Historical Newspapers)
World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers 1800-1922
This link opens in a new window
Richmond Daily Dispatch
Harper's Weekly Reports on Black America, 1857-1874
Southern History
African American Documentary Resources in the Southern Historical Collection at UNC Chapel Hill
Alabama Mosaic
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
Documenting the American South (DocSouth)
Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCU) Library Alliance Digital Collection
NUCMC and the Documentary Heritage of the Civil War
South Carolina Digital Library
Southern Historical Collection (SHC)
<<
Previous:
Find articles
Next:
Citing Your Sources >>
