LibGuides at Priddy Library: Towson Education Students: Teaching Resources

Teaching Databases

Academic Video Online An online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers, including videos on teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. On completion the collection will include 1,000 videos.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database - TU The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources. Reviewers include book authors, librarians, writers and editors, teachers, children's literature specialists and physicians. Each month Children's Literature features interviews with children's book authors and illustrators, including each month several sets of themed reviews. (CLCD was previously known as Children's Literature Reviews.)

Something About the Author
Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.

TeachingBooks - TU
TeachingBooks includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities. To make a personal account for creating booklists and saving resources, click Educator Login and sign up with your student or faculty e-mail.

Testlink: the ETS Test Collection
The ETS Test Collection includes an extensive library of 20,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present.
Lexile - Find a book by lexile Enter a Lexile measure, select particular reader interests, and find books that fit the perameters. English and Spanish.
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature DAWCL Only winners included; search by topic, age, gender, multicultural and more.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
This electronic version of a 2006 reference book includes 3,214 entries “written by an international roster of more than 300 authors.” It includes “brief biographies of every major author and illustrator,… feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.”

Primary Search - TU
Designed specifically for elementary school libraries and contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines.
Materials in this database: Articles, K-12 Resources
MAS Ultra: School Edition (EBSCO) - TU
Contains full text for more than 460 popular, high school magazines. Full text is also available for 50,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents.

PBS Teachers PBS Teachers is PBS' national web destination for high-quality preK-12 educational resources. Here you'll find classroom materials suitable for a wide range of subjects and grade levels. We provide thousands of lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations. These resources are correlated to state and national educational standards and are tied to PBS' award-winning on-air and online programming like NOVA, Nature, Cyberchase.
PBS - Teacherline
PBS TeacherLine's high quality, standards-based graduate-level courses offer teachers the professional development opportunities they need in an accessible online format that makes learning fun, flexible and collaborative.
ReadWriteThink (NCTE) New ThinkFinity.org
Student Learning through Libraries
The Institute for Library and Information Literacy Education provides local, regional and national leadership in fostering valuable collaboration among teachers, school library media specialists and academic faculty who work together to promote information literacy in the K-16 classroom.