LibGuides at Priddy Library: EDCI 435/638 Teaching ESOL Reading and Writing in the Secondary Content Areas : Databases & Articles

Why use Databases?

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online.

What if there is no full text?

Request article from another library
This page will assist you in using Inter Library Loan to request the article.

Where can I find articles on my topic?

The UM Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!! The ones listed here are most useful education databases where you'll be able to find information on your topics. All databases that UMCP subscribes to can be accessed through Research Port

Example Topics: English Language Learners in secondary content classrooms

Improving reading with ELLs in the content area:

"reading improvement" and (ELLs or "English language learners")
"read* improvement" and (ELLs or English language learner)
"read* improvement" and (ELLs or ESL)
ELLs and read* and (spanish or french)

Writing tasks for language learners

ELLs or ESL and "writing task*" and language learn*
ELL writing tasks and learning language

group activities

Secondary learners

Middle school learners

Education Research Complete - UMCP
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Childrens Core Collection - UMCP
Children’s Core Collection provides titles chosen specifically for readers from preschool through grade five. Containing over 30,000 titles, this collection covers all genres.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection - UMCP
Middle and Junior High Core Collection is ideal for libraries serving readers in grades five through nine. This collection contains over 19,000 entries for nonfiction and fiction works recommended for children and adolescents.
Senior High Core Collection - UMCP
Senior High Core Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction titles recommended for high school students (grades 9 through 12), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
Fiction Core Collection - UMCP
Fiction Core Collection features classic and contemporary works and provides titles for a general adult audience. The best authors and their most widely-read works in literary and popular fiction—old and new—are listed.
Graphic Novels Core Collection - UMCP
Graphic Novels Core Collection highlights more than 3,000 titles for all age levels in the increasingly popular genre of graphic novels. This collection includes descriptive and evaluative annotations, cover art, review excerpts and awards the title has won.
JSTOR Education - UMCP
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts (EBSCO) - UMCP
Indexes and summarizes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and book reviews on linguistics and its sub-disciplines.
ERIC - UMCP
Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents.

Supplemental Databases

PsycINFO
"PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. Covering the entire range of psychology disciplines, PsycINFO includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as education."

Social Sciences Citation Index. 1976- .
Provides author and keyword access to about 4,700 journals and several monographic series. Use this database to find out if a particular author/article has been cited in later publications.

China Academic Journals (CAJ) Full-text Database
CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. CAJ Series F, G, H, and J contain more than 3,200 journals. In subject areas of literature, history, language; politics military, and law; education.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text . 1861- .
Covers a complete range of dissertations and theses in all disciplines, from participating institutions. Full text of UM dissertations and theses are available from 1997-. In addition, 24 page previews of dissertations and theses from other institutions are available from 1997-. Print copies of UM dissertations and theses are available in McKeldin Library and various campus branch libraries.

Education in Video.
This database provides online streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. More than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms give education students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching.