Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Greenwood dictionary of education [electronic resource] by
This e-book is available to UMCP faculty, currently enrolled UMCP students and UMCP staff. Click the Find It button to get online access through Net Library.
This dictionary is also available in print at McKeldin Library Reference Stacks LB 15 .G68 2003b
World Education Encyclopedia: : a survey of educational systems worldwide [electronic resource]
This e-book provides country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This e-book is available to UMCP faculty, currently enrolled UMCP students and UMCP staff. This encyclopedia is also available in print at McKeldin Library Reference Stacks LB15 .W87 2002.
Encyclopedia of Education [electronic source]
This 8 volume encyclopedia set provides a comprehensive overview of education within the United States and throughout the world. With over 850 cross-referenced entries, the entries address such items as K-12 education, higher education, international education, educational policy and legislation, learning and instruction, teacher preparation and testing. In addition, the encyclopedia has 121 biographical sketches of influential educators. Vol. 8 provides detailed entries for court cases, legislation, and international agreements, as well as a substantial index. This e-book is available to UMCP faculty, currently enrolled UMCP students and UMCP staff. This book is also available in print at McKeldin Library Reference Stacks LB 15 . E47 2003
Encyclopedia of American Education by
Call Number: LB17 .U54 2007
This 3 volume set has over 2,600 topics relating to all areas of education in the United States. Volume 3 contains an extensive index and a bibliography organized into 41 subject areas.
UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
International Encyclopedia of Education by
Call Number: LB15 .I569 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
The field of education has experienced extraordinary technological, societal and institutional change in recent years, making it one of the most fascinating yet complex fields of study in social science.
Unequalled in its combination of authoritative scholarship and comprehensive coverage, International Encyclopedia of Education 3rd edition succeeds two highly successful previous editions (1985, 1994) in aiming to encapsulate research in this vibrant field for the twenty-first century reader. Under development for five years, this work encompasses over 1,350 articles across 24 individual areas of coverage, and is expected to become the dominant resource in the field.
Education is a multidisciplinary and international field drawing on a wide range of social sciences and humanities disciplines and IEE3 comprehensively matches this diversity. The diverse background and multi-disciplinary subject coverage of the Editorial Board ensure that a balanced and objective academic framework was achieved. Working relationships with relevant international organizations provide have lent this project the requisite global outlook. The 1100 contributors represent over 100 countries, capturing a complete portrait of this evolving field.
* A totally new work, revamped with a wholly new editorial board, structure and brand-new list of meta-sections and articles
* Developed by an international panel of editors and authors drawn from senior academia
* Web-enhanced with supplementary multimedia audio and video files, hotlinked to relevant references and sources for further study