Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LBSC 642: Integrating Technology into Learning and Teaching: Databases

Professor Anderson

Core Databases

Academic Search Premier

Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database ...

ERIC

Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents. It also provides the full text of more than 2,200 ERIC Digests (short reports on topics ...

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online ...

Literature Resource Center

Full-text database of author biographies and bibliographies and criticism and reviews of authors' works. Included is material from many of the publisher's print reference publications including, among others, Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Project Muse

Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines.

Ulrichs

Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory™ is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world.         

Other Useful Databases

Collection Development Resources

Children’s Core Collection

Children’s Core Collection provides titles chosen specifically for readers from preschool through grade five. Containing over 30,000 titles, this collection covers all genres.

Middle and Junior High Core Collection       

Middle and Junior High Core Collection is ideal for libraries serving readers in grades five through nine. This collection contains over 19,000 entries for nonfiction and fiction works recommended for children and adolescents.                    

Senior High Core Collection       

Senior High Core Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction titles recommended for high school students (grades 9 through 12), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.           

Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction        

Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction provides over 22,000 titles of the most highly-recommended reference and non-fiction books for adults.                      

Fiction Core Collection        

Fiction Core Collection features classic and contemporary works and provides titles for a general adult audience. The best authors and their most widely-read works in literary and popular fiction—old and new—are listed.                    

Graphic Novels Core Collection        

Graphic Novels Core Collection highlights more than 3,000 titles for all age levels in the increasingly popular genre of graphic novels. This collection includes descriptive and evaluative annotations, cover art, review excerpts and awards the title has won.