Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Research & Writing Bootcamp: Finding Articles, Books & DVDs

Presentation on Library Research

Google Scholar

Library Links in Google Scholar

Before starting a search in Google Scholar, you can change the settings so that you will access articles to which your institution subscribes.

1. Once in Google Scholar, click on the menu icon in the top left-hand side of the screen. From the menu that appears, choose Settings.

2. On this page, click on Library Links in the menu on the left-hand side of the page.

3. Enter your university in the search box and do the search. For UMB, enter Health Sciences and Human Services. Your school should appear in a list below the search box. Check that box and click save. 

4. This will then take you back to the search page on Google Scholar. When you do a search, the FindIT button should appear next to articles to which you have access. You only need to set this up once, not every time you go int to Google Scholar.

 

Cited Reference Searching 

You can find related and more recent articles and resources in Google Scholar by clicking on "Cited by," located below an article or e-book of interest.

Cited by link in Google Scholar

 

Cited Reference Search in Web of Science

This short presentation will show you how to do a cited reference search in the Web of Science database. A cited reference search can help you find more recent research related to your topic, track new developments and examine the influence of a particular paper. Marcie Jacklin, a librarian at Brock University created this tutorial. 

Library Databases

You can access library databases from your home institution to find articles, eBooks and streaming video both on-campus and off-campus. 

Students from any university can access databases subscribed to by the University of Maryland, College Park (UMCP) Libraries while on campus at USG.

To access databases, go the Priddy Library homepage and go to the section that says, "Find Articles."  Select "USG" when on campus to access UMCP databases. To access databases from your home institution, select it in the drop-down menu and click GO.

Find articles screenshot

Library Catalogs

For books, eBooks and DVDs, search in the library catalog. You can also find some articles in most library catalogs, but the databases are a more efficient way to search for articles.

You can access the UMCP library catalog, WorldCat, from the Priddy Library homepage. This also includes books from other University of Maryland System schools.

WorldCat Screenshot