Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WELCOME TO PRIDDY LIBRARY!
Welcome to Priddy Library!
Whether you are looking for a book, article, or website; this interactive guide will give you tips
and resources to start from. Here are some tips
•Boolean Searching: AND, OR, and NOT
•Truncation: cut off the end of a word and use an asterisk “*”
to get more results
Ex: pharmac*= pharmacy, pharmaceutical, pharmacist, pharmacology, etc...
•Use Synonyms and related words to search
•Find subject headings in records to expand and narrow search:
EXAMPLE from the catalog:
search: words anywhere: "pharmc* and psychopharmacology"
ex title: Psychopharmacology : drugs, the brain, and behavior /
Jerrold S. Meyer, Linda F. Quenzer.
Looking at the full record one finds more subject headings for
ONLINE RESOURCES THROUGH USG/BOWIE
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-IV-TR by
Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D54 2000 (Course Reserve at Circ)
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Since the DSM-IV® was published in 1994, we've seen many advances in our knowledge of psychiatric illness. This Text Revision incorporates information culled from a comprehensive literature review of research about mental disorders published since DSM-IV® was completed in 1994. Updated information is included about the associated features, culture, age, and gender features, prevalence, course, and familial pattern of mental disorders. The DSM-IV-TR® brings this essential diagnostic tool up-to-date, to promote effective diagnosis, treatment, and quality of care. Now you can get all the essential diagnostic information you rely on from the DSM-IV® along with important updates not found in the 1994 edition. Stay current with important updates to the DSM-IV-TR®: #149; Benefit from new research into Schizophrenia, Asperger's Disorder, and other conditions#149; Utilize additional information about the epidemiology and other facets of DSM conditions#149; Update ICD-9-CM codes implemented since 1994 (including Conduct Disorder, Dementia, Somatoform Disorders)
Call Number: RM315 .E877 2011
Publication Date: 2010-09-23
For undergraduate courses in Psychopharmacology / Drugs and Behavior. Organized by disorder. This text introduces a sufficient background in neuroanatomy and physiology so that students can comprehend the necessary details of drug action. Unfortunately, undergraduate students do not always get a sufficient introduction to neural and physiological sciences, so they are unprepared to approach courses in psychopharmacology. Presents pharmacology in the context of the behavioral disorders they are designed to treat, not necessarily by traditional drug classification. Students are familiar with the major diagnostic categories (affective disorders, psychoses, attention disorders, etc) so presenting pharmacology as it pertains to these familiar disorders strengthens their understanding of the physiology and neurochemistry underlying them as well as the approaches to their treatment. Students in many applied fields need accessible information that can be built upon in professional programs as well as information that is both relevant and applicable immediately. This text provides both. If your course requires a writing or research project and you'd like resources to help, please visitwww.mysearchlab.comfor more information!
Primer of Drug Action by
Call Number: RM315 .J75 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-08
Edition after edition, Robert Julien’sA Primer of Drug Actionkeeps pace with one of the most dynamic fields of scientific inquiry, giving students immediate access to the most current research and promising new directions in psychopharmacology. Rigorously updated throughout, the new edition again takes its place as the definitive guide to the drugs that affect the mind and behavior. As always, it is clear, comprehensive, objective, and authoritative, spanning a wide variety of drug types, including sedatives, depressants, stimulants, analgesics, psychedelic drugs, steroids, and drugs used to treat psychological disorders. To visit Robert Julien's blog that accompanies A Primer of Drug Action, clickhere.
Principles and Practice of Psychopharmacotherapy by
Call Number: RC483 .P74 2006 Reference
Publication Date: 2006-04-11
The fully updated Fourth Edition of this comprehensive clinical reference summarizes the latest data on hundreds of drug and device-based therapies and offers practical, evidence-based guidelines and treatment strategies for virtually every psychiatric disorder. Coverage includes the recently FDA-approved use of vagus nerve stimulation for treatment-resistant depression and current clinical guidelines on electroconvulsive therapy and transcranial magnetic stimulation, including indications, dosage, variations in treatment, and administration. Other topics addressed include the risks and benefits of psychopharmacotherapy for the pregnant, child, adolescent, geriatric, and dementia patient, and up-to-the-minute strategies for treating schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, anxiety, sleep disorders, obsessive-compulsive and panic disorders, dementia, and more.
Kaplan and Sadock's Pocket Handbook of Psychiatric Drug Treatment by
Call Number: RC483 .K36 2006
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
The thoroughly updated Fourth Edition of this popular handbook includes all the newest drugs used to treat psychiatric disorders. Each chapter provides complete information on preparation and dosages; indications; use in children, elderly persons, and pregnant and nursing women;adverse reactions; and drug-drug interactions. To help physicians recognize and prescribe medications, the book presents color plates of all major drugs and indicates the forms and dosages in which they are available. Front-of-book tables identify chapters where each drug is discussed, and drugs used for each disorder. Also included is a tabular listing of toxic and lethal doses of each drug, symptoms of overdose, and emergency management measures.
Psychotropic Drugs by
Call Number: RM315 .K4 2005 Course Reserves
Publication Date: 2005-03-03
Completely updated, the fourth edition of Psychotropic Drugs presents essential psychopharmacologic information in a comprehensive, user-friendly format. Part One consists of 23 narrative chapters that provide an overview and basic discussion of the biologic bases of psychopharmacology, as well as the uses of psychotropic drugs for specific psychiatric disorders across the lifespan. Part Two contains a series of brief profiles for some of the most common psychotropic drugs, listed by generic name, for access in clinical situations. With information presented in both a comprehensive narrative style and in alphabetical drug profiles, this book can be used both as a textbook and as a handy reference. A two-part organization offers both narrative chapters (Part One) and succinct drug profiles (Part Two), so readers may have a choice of using the book as a textbook or as a reference. Clinical Psychopharmacology overview provides an introduction to psychotropic drugs, including chapters on psychiatric care as related to pharmacologic treatment, and a review of neuroanatomy. Introduction to Psychotropic Drugs includes chapters on psychiatric care as related to pharmacologic treatment, cultural and ethnic factors in psychopharmacology, and a review of neuroanatomy. It reviews neurologic function for those who are a bit rusty, and challenges those who are more conversant with brain biology. Drugs Used in the Treatment of Mental Disorders focuses on the major categories of drugs used in psychiatric care. Drug Issues Related to Psychopharmacology reviews electroconvulsive therapy, drugs of abuse, central nervous system stimulants, drugs used in alternative and complementary medicine, and drugs used to treat extrapyramidal side effects of psychotropic drugs. Developmental Issues Related to Psychotropic Drugs includes chapters on the psychopharmacologic treatment of children, adolescents, and elderly persons, to reinforce the age-related issues associated with pharmacologic interventions. Psychotropic Drug Profiles features quick, handy profiles for some of the most commonly prescribed psychotropic drugs. Each drug is profiled according to categories such as classification, indications, contraindications, pharmacokinetics, and interactions. Trade names have been expanded and updated. New Culture, ethics, and psychopharmacology chapter calls special attention to ethnic and cultural factors which are imperative to the efficacy and effectiveness of psychopharmacology. New Drugs for depressive disorders chapter provides intensive coverage of drugs used to treat depressive disorders, including side effects, treatment implications, and herbal treatments. New Drugs for bipolar disorders chapter reviews drugs used to treat bipolar disorders, including pharmacokinetics, side effects, and treatment implications. New Drugs used in alternative and complementary medicine chapter presents content on alternative pharmacologic methods utilized by many psychiatric patients worldwide, including the latest herbal and therapeutic methods. New and hot drug coverage includes escitalopram and galantamine.