LibGuides at Priddy Library: HIST 201 : Introduction to the Study of History: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

On line reference resources

World History Encyclopedia by Alfred J. Andrea (Editor) In order to broaden our perspective and gain the deeper understanding necessary to function effectively in today's global arena, we need to focus on big picture trends and phenomenaaereligion and philosophy, science and technology, political organization, art and culture, population changes, environmental interactions, human migrationsaeacross many countries and regions, rather than dwelling on the dates and details of traditional country-based history. This is what study of world history in the 21st century requiresaeand what ABC-CLIO's World History Encyclopedia provides."
ISBN: 9781851099306
Publication Date: 2008

Encyclopedia of World Biography - online resource Bibliographies; Dictionaries; Non-fiction; Collective biography; Electronic document
ISBN: 0787691240
Publication Date: 1998
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by H. C. G. Matthew (Editor); Brian Harrison (Editor)
ISBN: 019861411X
Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000, from the ancient (explorer Pytheas of the 4th Century BC) to the modern (Princess Diana). For this new edition, all 36,000 lives from the first edition have been completely rewritten or revised-with over 13,500 new biographies added representing all historical periods and including 3,000 new entries on women.

Locating background information in general and subject specific encyclopedias and dictionaries will help you put information in context.

Consulting reference materials will help you:

Get an overview of the subject you are researching
Identify key concepts of your topic
Identify major authors
Understand the chronology/timeline of the events
Develop a list of search terms to start your research
Use the bibliographies in these resources to locate other information on your topic

Is it Relevant? - Does it contribute to your knowledge on the subject you are researching?

Is it Current? - Is the information current for your project?

Is it Accurate? - Is the information provided correct?

Is it Authoritative? - Is the author an expert on the subject?