Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 201 : Introduction to the Study of History: Find articles

Dr. Andrew Nolan This Library Guide provides a great starting point for researching history topics.

Scholarly vs Popular

When conducting your research, it is important for you to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Databases are used to find and identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of documents.

Journal articles are usually referred to as "scholarly," while magazine articles are commonly considered "popular." Consider these points when differentiating between journals and magazines.

Criteria

Scholarly Journal

Popular Magazine

Audience

Academics/researchers and professionals

General public

Authors

Experts and/or specialists

Journalists and/or freelance writers

Editorial Review/Peer Review

Journal editorial board and peer reviewers.

Professional editors

References/ Works cited

Yes

Not necessary

 

How do I know if we have access to this journal title?

Found a good article? Now you need to know whether you can get the full text at the Priddy Library  

or at UMBC Library Find Journals at UMBC

If you've run a database search, the article's record may have a "Full Text" or "PDF" link - that's great: click to get the full text. If not, click on any of these links to find out if we have access to the journal.

If you have found the article in Google Scholar: click a library link, e.g., "FindIt@UMCP" or  "FindIt@UMBC" to the right of the search result.

The article isn't available in our collection?

Did you find a relevant article for your research? Can't get access to the full text? Try to use the Document Delivery Illiad service, the librarians will be eager to find it for you and you will get the scan article in your mailbox.

What does peer review mean?

Peer review is an indicator of quality scholarship. It is the process by which after an author submits its manuscript for publication, a number of recognized researchers in the field (their peers) will evaluate the manuscript and recommend its publication, revision, or rejection. Articles accepted for publication through a peer review process implicitly meet the discipline's expected standards of expertise.

Google Scholar

If you have found an interesting article in Google Scholar and want to gain access to it click on the library link,  "FindIt@UMCP" or  "FindIt@UMBC" to the right of the search result.

Google Scholar Search