Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMBC Libraries subscribes to the following academic databases. Follow these links to search for peer reviewed books, journal articles, and conference papers.
Web of Science - UMBC
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Access multidisciplinary information from more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals. With cited reference searching, find previously published works based on the articles citing them.
Journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical standards related to computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields. Published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
Academic Search Ultimate
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more. Limit searching to academic journals and conference papers to ensure results are peer reviewed.
Inspec provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature. Coverage includes journals, conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports.
Science Direct - UMBC
Search or browse over 2,500 science, technology, and medicine journals (1,700 currently subscribed). Full text is available ONLY for those titles subscribed to by UMBC. Abstracts and bibliographic information is available for all other titles.
Federal Government Resources
NIST computer security publications
Computer security standards, peer-reviewed articles, and working papers published by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Journal articles, conference papers, books, NISTIRs, and white papers (marked as "final" rather than "draft") are peer reviewed. ITL bulletins listed in this guide are *not* peer reviewed.
Homeland security digital library
Search the public collection (~100,000 articles) from any computer or search the full collection (~179,000 articles) from a computer on campus. Filter for "journals and articles" to limit your search to peer-reviewed documents.
Searching in Google Scholar
In order to link Google Scholar to the full text of articles available in your home university's library, navigate to https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings#2 (see below). Not all resources listed on google scholar are authoritative; verify the publication source of any article found here.