Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Applied Social Psychology by This student-friendly introduction to the field focuses on understanding social and practical problems and developing intervention strategies to address them. Offering a balance of theory, research, and application, the updated Third Edition includes the latest research, as well as new, detailed examples of qualitative research throughout. The book begins with separate chapters that define the field, examine social psychological theory, review research methods, and consider the design and evaluation of interventions. Subsequent content chapters focus on the application of social psychological theory and knowledge to such areas as counseling, sports, media, health, education, organizations, criminal justice, community, environment, and diversity.
Call Number: HM1033 .S36 2017 (USG)
Dimensions of Human Behavior by Elizabeth Hutchison's Dimensions of Human Behavior: Person and Environment, Sixth Edition, is the revision of a highly successful text for a core course area in the social work curriculum. The book presents a unique organizing framework which breaks down the core content along three primary dimensions: Person, Environment and Time. This book covers the biological dimension (person) and the social factors (environment) that impact human development and behavior.
Call Number: HM1033 .D56 2019 (USG)
The Palgrave Handbook of Critical Social Psychology by This handbook is the first to bring together the latest theory and research on critical approaches to social psychological challenges. Edited by a leading authority in the field, this volume further establishes critical social psychology as a discipline of study, distinct from mainstream social psychology. The handbook explains how critical approaches to social processes and phenomena are essential to fully understanding them, and covers the main research topics in basic and applied social psychology, including social cognition, identity and social relations, alongside overviews of the main theories and methodologies that underpin critical approaches. This volume features a range of leading authors working on key social psychological issues, and highlights a commitment to a social psychology which shuns psychologisation, reductionism and neutrality. It provides invaluable insight into many of the most pressing and distressing issues we face in modern society, including the migrant and refugee crises affecting Europe; the devaluing of black lives in the USA; and the poverty, ill-health, and poor mental well-being that has resulted from ever-increasing austerity efforts in the UK. Including sections on critical perspectives, critical methodologies, and critical applications, this volume also focuses on issues within social cognition, self and identity. This one-stop handbook is an indispensable resource for a range of academics, students and researchers in the fields of psychology and sociology, and particularly those with an interest in social identity, power relations, and critical interventions.
Call Number: HM1033 .P35 2017 (UMBC)
The Psychology of Diversity by The Psychology of Diversity presents a captivating social-psychological study of diversity, the obstacles confronting it, and the benefits it provides. Goes beyond prejudice and discrimination to discuss the personal and social implications of diversity for both majority and minority group members Considers how historical, political, economic, and societal factors shape the way people think about and respond to diversity Explains why discrimination leads to bias at all levels in society - interpersonal, institutional, cultural, and social Describes proven techniques for improving intergroup relations Examines the brain's impact on bias in clear terms for students with little or no background in neuroscience Includes helpful study tools throughout the text as well as an online instructor's manual
Call Number: HM1271 .J656 2014 (USG)
Coping Strategies and Health by Anxiety disorders are one of the most common mental health problems on college campuses. Forty million U.S. adults suffer from an anxiety disorder, and 75 percent of them experience their first episode of anxiety by age 22 and most of them feel stressed and depressed. Decreasing anxiety and depression is an important topic to be discussed. This book examines coping strategies and health. The purpose of the first chapter is to provide a systematic literature review of coping strategies to decrease people's anxiety in order to provide an evidence based information for future nursing interventions. Chapter two establishes the relationship between coping strategies, test anxiety, and academic burnout-engagement. Chapter three provides tools for reducing university test anxiety, while chapter four presents a review of self-selected strategies college students employ in an attempt to seek happiness. Furthermore, chapter five examines how persons infected with or affected by HIV cope and hope for a better future, and chapter six presents results of the comparative study of coping strategies utilised among Caucasian American, Korean American, and Korean old adults.
Call Number: BF575.A6 C6667 2015 (UMBC)
Health Psychology by For over 20 years, HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY: AN INTRODUCTION TO BEHAVIOR AND HEALTH has remained a leader in the field of health psychology for its scholarship, strong and current research base, and balanced coverage of the cognitive, behavioral, and biological approaches to health psychology. Accessible and appealing to a wide-range of readers, this classic book features a concise writing style, ample pedagogy, and numerous visuals to support your learning and understanding. The Eighth Edition is updated to reflect the latest developments in the field, and includes many new real-world examples selected for their interest and relevance. Available with InfoTrac® Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Call Number: https://catalog.umd.edu/docno=004465237
Publication Date: R726.5 .B72 2014 (USG)
Health Psychology by Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors hereThe Third Edition of this best-selling textbook has been thoroughly updated and revised to make it even more essential for course teaching. Retaining the celebrated approach of previous editions in examining critical perspectives in health psychology, this new edition now incorporates research from a fuller range of perspectives including more ′mainstream′ health psychology and a wider international focus. Therefore this textbook now provides students with a broader, more rounded understanding of the field than ever before. Key features of the Third Edition: - Four brand new chapters in the book on Theories, Models and Interventions Applied to Sexual Health; Information and Communication; Health Literacy; Community and Alternative Approaches. - Extensive pedagogical features, including chapter outlines and summaries of key ideas, and guidelines for further research. Boxed case studies, tables and figures and cutting edge research are integrated throughout to aid students′ understanding of this fascinating field. - New accompanying companion website with a full suite of lecturer materials and online readings for students, as well as discussion blogs and video interviews with the authors. Health Psychology: Theory, Research and Practice 3e remains an essential book for undergraduate and masters students taking courses in health psychology as well as health promotion, public health, medicine and nursing. Visit the companion website at www.sagepub.co.uk/marks3
Call Number: R726.7 .H438 2011 (USG)
Health Psychology by For over 20 years, Brannon and Feist's HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY: AN INTRODUCTION TO BEHAVIOR AND HEALTH has remained a leader in the field of health psychology for its scholarship, strong and current research base, and balanced coverage of the cognitive, behavioral, and biological approaches to health psychology. Accessible and appealing to a wide-ranging student audience--including non-majors--this reader-friendly text has enjoyed enduring success. Instructors and students alike will appreciate the concise writing style and visual program in this classic approach to the teaching and learning of health psychology. Now extensively updated to reflect the latest developments in the field, the new Seventh Edition features a stronger emphasis on diversity, additional information on complementary and alternative medicine, coverage of the latest research and cutting-edge technology, and new real-world examples selected for their interest and relevance to today's students.
Call Number: R726.5 .B72 2010 (USG)
Can't find it in the catalog?
The Interlibrary Loan Service allows patrons to request materials needed for their research that are not owned by UMBC.
ILL is available at no charge to current UMBC faculty, students and staff. However, a cap may be set on the $ amount requested for payment.
Although Interlibrary Loan gives you access to many more resources, it may take longer than other means of access. The average delivery time is 5-10 business days. Always start your research early for the best results. You may want to contact the Reference Desk for assistance in locating other in-house or online materials.