Skip to Main Content

EDHD 600: Introduction to Human Development and Child Study: Writing & Citing

Multidisciplinary scientific principles/theoretical frameworks which describe human development and behavior Techniques of observation, recording, and analysis of human behavior. Emphasis on applying developmental theories/recent research findings to chil

Citation Help

Google Scholar Citations
Google Scholar Citations allows authors to track citations of their work and provides citation metrics and graphs. Google Scholar allows you to make your profile available to the public so it shows up when people search your name in Google Scholar. You can also choose to have your list of publications update automatically, review the updates yourself, or manually update your publications. Google Scholar may be an especially helpful resource for researchers in the social sciences, as it includes books as well as other methods of publication not indexed by major databases.

Writing Centers

Writing/Research Guides

Successful Research Projects: a step-by-step guide by Bernard C. Beins
Call Number: BF76.5 .B4395 2014 (TU, Coppin State)
ISBN: 9781452203935
How to Design and Evaluate Research in Education by Jack Fraenkel
Call Number: LB1028 .F665 2015 (SU Blackwell)
ISBN: 9780078110399
Research and Documentation in the Digital Age by Diana Hacker
Call Number: ZA4375 .H327 2015 (TU)
ISBN: 9781457650697

Zotero

Zotero
Zotero is a free, open source reference management software, for managing bibliographic data and related research materials (e.g., PDFs). Notable features include web browser integration, online syncing, generation of in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies, as well as integration with the word processors.

Zotero Standalone allows Zotero to be run as an independent program outside Firefox. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library. On many websites such as library catalogs, PubMed, Google Scholar, Google Books, Amazon.com, Wikipedia, and publisher's websites, Zotero shows an icon when a book, article, or other resource is being viewed. By clicking this icon, the full reference information can be saved to the Zotero library.

Zotero can also save a copy of the webpage, or, in the case of scientific articles, a copy of the full text PDF.

Getting started with Zotero

Create a Zotero Account

Zotero Handout