http://www.shadygrove.umd.edu/library
To search the Priddy Library for books 
To search any of the Universities that USG has access to. (See Below)
21st Century Anthropology by
Request a free 30-day online trial at www.sagepub.com/freetrialVia 100 entries or "mini-chapters," 21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. This two-volume set provides undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that serves their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but in a clear, accessible style, devoid of jargon, unnecessary detail or density.Key Features- Emphasizes key curricular topics, making it useful for students researching for term papers, preparing for GREs, or considering topics for a senior thesis, graduate degree, or career.- Comprehensive, providing full coverage of key subthemes and subfields within the discipline, such as applied anthropology, archaeology and paleontology, sociocultural anthropology, evolution, linguistics, physical and biological anthropology, primate studies, and more.- Offers uniform chapter structure so students can easily locate key information, within these sections: Introduction, Theory, Methods, Applications, Comparison, Future Directions, Summary, Bibliography & Suggestions for Further Reading, and Cross References.- Available in print or electronically at SAGE Reference Online, providing students with convenient, easy access to its contents.
Anthropology and the Racial Politics of Culture by
In the late nineteenth century, if ethnologists in the United States recognized African American culture, they often perceived it as something to be overcome and left behind. At the same time, they were committed to salvaging "disappearing" Native American culture by curating objects, narrating practices, and recording languages. In Anthropology and the Racial Politics of Culture, Lee D. Baker examines theories of race and culture developed by American anthropologists during the late nineteenth century and early twentieth. He investigates the role that ethnologists played in creating a racial politics of culture in which Indians had a culture worthy of preservation and exhibition while African Americans did not. Baker argues that the concept of culture developed by ethnologists to understand American Indian languages and customs in the nineteenth century formed the basis of the anthropological concept of race eventually used to confront "the Negro problem" in the twentieth century. As he explores the implications of anthropology's different approaches to African Americans and Native Americans, and the field's different but overlapping theories of race and culture, Baker delves into the careers of prominent anthropologists and ethnologists, including James Mooney Jr., Frederic W. Putnam, Daniel G. Brinton, and Franz Boas. His analysis takes into account not only scientific societies, journals, museums, and universities, but also the development of sociology in the United States, African American and Native American activists and intellectuals, philanthropy, the media, and government entities from the Bureau of Indian Affairs to the Supreme Court. In Anthropology and the Racial Politics of Culture, Baker tells how anthropology has both responded to and helped shape ideas about race and culture in the United States, and how its ideas have been appropriated (and misappropriated) to wildly different ends.
The Anthropology of Extinction by
We live in an era marked by an accelerating rate of species death, but since the early days of the discipline, anthropology has contemplated the death of languages, cultural groups, and ways of life. The essays in this collection examine processes of--and our understanding of--extinction across various domains. The contributors argue that extinction events can be catalysts for new cultural, social, environmental, and technological developments--that extinction processes can, paradoxically, be productive as well as destructive. The essays consider a number of widely publicized cases: island species in the Galápagos and Madagascar; the death of Native American languages; ethnic minorities under pressure to assimilate in China; cloning as a form of species regeneration; and the tiny hominid Homo floresiensis fossils ("hobbits") recently identified in Indonesia. The Anthropology of Extinction offers compelling explorations of issues of widespread concern.
Anthropology Unbound by
The first edition of the widely popular Anthropology Unbound (2007) prepared readers to see how the dynamics of Western economies were rapidly becoming unsustainable. This updated edition takes readers into the heart of the economic meltdown as it explains the many recent world events it had predicted. With the unique perspective of anthropology, this book offers a wider view of the present financial crisis-as well as pathways out of it. It describes the latest studies of fundamentalism, Al-Qaeda, and American culture. In lively form it invites any reader into an anthropological way of understanding our own society and the world at large.
Biological Anthropology: An Introductory Reader (6th ed.) by
Call No: GN60 .B54 2010
ISBN: 0078116961
This supplement offers both historical and contemporary articles that demonstrate the nature of biological anthropology. With nearly one-third of the selections focusing on living populations, the 43 readings cover the entire range of bioanthropological studies: evolution, nonhuman primates, human paleontology, and modern human groups.
Core Concepts in Cultural Anthropology (4th ed.) by
Call No: GN316 .L39 2010
ISBN: 0073530980
This concise introduction to the basic ideas and practices of contemporary cultural anthropology addresses the needs of anthropology professors who make extensive use of ethnographies and other supplementary readings in their courses. It offers a thorough annotated bibliography of the terms and concepts that anthropologists use in their work, while its conceptual and theoretical framework prepares students to read ethnography more effectively.
Essentials of Physical Anthropology: Discovering Our Origins by
Call No: GN50.4 .L367 2010
ISBN: 0393934225
Essentials of Physical Anthropology is the ideal text for focusing students’ attention on what really matters and why. Author Clark Larsen has worked hard to develop a tight narrative, covering only the most pertinent, most up-to-date information that students should know.
Humanity : an introduction to cultural anthropology by 
Mobility and Migration In Indigenous Amazonia: Contemporary Ethnoecological Perspectives by
Call No: F2519.3.M48 M63 2009
ISBN: 1845455630
This original and thought-provoking collection of case studies examines some of the ways in which migration, and the concomitant process of ecological and social change, have shaped and continued to shape human-environment relations in Amazonia.
Returns to the Field by
Many anthropologists return to their original fieldwork sites a number of times during their careers, but this experience has seldom been subjected to analytic and theoretical scrutiny. The contributors to Returns to the Field have all undertaken multitemporal fieldwork--repeated visits to the same place--over periods ranging from 20 to 40 years among minority groups in Africa, Latin America, Asia, and Melanesia. Over the years of contact, these anthropologists have witnessed dramatic changes, but also the perseverance of the people they have worked with. In vivid and personal essays, the authors examine the ramifications of this type of fieldwork practice--the kind of knowledge it produces, what methodological tools are appropriate, and how relationships with people in the field site change over time.
