Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children's Books in Children's Hands by Pre-service and in-service teachers alike benefit from the experience of renowned authors Charles Temple, Miriam Martinez, and Junko Yokota as they share a wealth of richly illustrated, practical ideas for sharing literature with children. The authors focus on creating an understanding of how literature works and how children respond to literature, they provide a wide range of good books to use with children, and they suggest ways to guide children into books and help them enjoy the experience. Dozens of new authors and books have been added to this new edition of Children's books in Children's Hands: An Introduction to Their Literature, 4e, making it interesting and current, and the continued emphasis on cultural diversity includes a new chapter on international books.
Call Number: PN1009 .A1 C5118 2011
Then and Now
Historical Dictionary of Children's Literature by Children's literature comes from a number of different sources-folklore (folk- and fairy tales), books originally for adults and subsequently adapted for children, and material authored specifically for them-and its audience ranges from infants through middle graders to young adults (readers from about 12 to 18 years old). Its forms include picturebooks, pop-up books, anthologies, novels, merchandising tie-ins, novelizations, and multimedia texts, and its genres include adventure stories, drama, science fiction, poetry, and information books. The Historical Dictionary of Children's Literature relates the history of children's literature through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, a bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, books, and genres. Some of the most legendary names in all of literature are covered in this important reference, including Hans Christian Anderson, L. Frank Baum, Lewis Carroll, Roald Dahl, Charles Dickens, C.S. Lewis, Beatrix Potter, J.K. Rowling, Robert Louis Stevenson, Mark Twain, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jules Verne, and E.B. White.
Call Number: PN1009 .A1 O775 2010 (UMCP. TU e-book))
New Directions in Picturebook Research by In this new collection, children's literature scholars from twelve different countries contribute to the ongoing debate on the importance of picturebook research, focusing on aesthetic and cognitive aspects of picture books. Contributors take interdisciplinary approaches that integrate different disciplines such as literary studies, art history, linguistics, narratology, cognitive psychology, sociology, memory studies, and picture theory. Topics discussed include intervisuality, twist endings, autobiographical narration, and metaliterary awareness in picturebooks. The essays also examine the narrative challenges of first-person narratives, ellipsis, frame breaking, and mindscape as new paradigms in picturebook research. Tying picturebook studies to studies in childhood, multimodality, and literacy, this anthology is representative of the different opportunities for research in this emerging field.
Call Number: PN1009 .A1 N39 2010 (UMCP)
Love to Read
Joy of Children's Literature by THE JOY OF CHILDREN'S LITERATURE, 2nd Edition, provides in-depth coverage of children's literature with integrated reading methods in a concise, accessible format. The compact length allows for time to read the numerous children's books highlighted in the text. Johnson emphasizes that reading, writing, discussing, and finding pleasure in children's books are essential to the ability to recognize and recommend literature, and ultimately, to the ability to share the joy of children's literature with children themselves. The book is divided into three main parts. Part I introduces foundational concepts necessary to the study of children's literature, including child development and the history and scope of children's literature. Part II analyzes a different literary genre in each chapter, providing a history of the genre, a consideration of its role in modern children's literature, key books in the genre, and discussion. Part III considers the usage of children's literature in the classroom, with practical advice for teaching.
Call Number: PN1009.A1 J54 2012 (SG, TU)
Multicultural Children's Literature: through the eyes of many childre by A must-have resource for all teachers and adults interested in evaluating, selecting, and sharing multicultural literature written for children and young adults, this widely-popular guide is thoroughly updated to include the most outstanding examples of children's and adolescent literature available. In Donna E. Norton's Multicultural Children's Literature, readers gain a deeper appreciation and understanding of the rich cultural heritage embedded in authentic multicultural literature and see how to share that appreciation and heritage with children and young adults. A chapter each is devoted to the following children's and adolescent literature in the following cultures: African American, Native American, Latino, Asian, Jewish, and Middle Eastern.
Call Number: PS153.M56 N675 2013 (SG)
Teaching Children's Literature: it’s critical! by This groundbreaking text offers a fresh perspective on how to implement children's literature into and across the curriculum in ways that are both effective and purposeful. Honed over years of experience and reflection in classroom settings and rich with real examples of teachers implementing critical pedagogy, it invites multiple ways of engaging with literature that extend beyond the genre and elements approach and also addresses potential problems or issues that teachers may confront. The book is structured around three 'mantras' that build on each other: Enjoy; Dig deeper; Take action. The practical strategies for taking a critical approach focus on issues that impact children's lives, building from students' personal experiences and cultural knowledge to using language to question the everyday world, analyze popular culture and media, understand how power relationships are socially constructed, and consider actions that can be taken to promote social justice. This book teems with pedagogical purpose. It is smart, principled, and useful. Its freshness and currency will resonate with readers and inspire their teaching. A Companion Website (www.routledge.com/cw/leland) enriches and extends the text.
Call Number: LB1575.5 .U5 L45 2012 (UMBC)
Literature for Young Children: supporting emergent literacy, ages 0-8 by In the new edition of this widely popular guide, Literature for Young Children: Supporting Emergent Literacy, Ages 0-8, early childhood teachers and child-care professionals get the help they need to recognize high-quality children's literature and to learn to use it effectively to support emerging literacy development in infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and primary-age children. The authors, widely known as authorities in this field, explain how to use children's literature as a teaching tool and provide readers with a number of developmentally appropriate strategies for sharing literature with young children.
Call Number: Z1037 .A1 G573 2013 (SG, TU)
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Children's Literature on the Move: nations, translations, migrations by Traversing a variety of places - real and imagined, past and present, new and as old as time - Children's Literature on the Move traces how children's books have helped both to create national identity and to resist it, empowering readers young and old with the ability to make meaning from physical, political, and emotional upheaval. The book's essays examine the close association that has long existed between children's literature and the construction of national and individual identity in a variety of national and historical contexts. Tracing migrations - both real and metaphorical - between countries, languages, political situations, and stages of life, the book demonstrates how children's literature has both promoted and resisted certain kinds of national identities. It innovatively examines genres and national contexts not often discussed, including Estonian children's songs and Turkish periodicals for children. The book's contributors hone in on the relationship between children's books and national identity in the Irish context across the 20th century, in both English and Irish language publications. It closes with essays that consider the empowering potential of children's books in contemporary contexts. Moving between Ireland and Eastern Europe, discussing authors that range from Shakespeare to Siobhan Dowd, and including cutting edge research on children's books in translation, these essays greatly increase our understanding of how children's literature continues to inform and be informed by notions of nation, translation, and migration. In March 2015 this book was selected unanimously by the awards committee of the Children's Literature Association for the Edited Book Award (Series: Studies in Children's Literature)
Call Number: PN1009.5.N35 C55 2013 (SG, UMCP)
About the Awards
Newbery and Caldecott Awards: A Guide to the Medal and Honor Books by Updated to include the 2014 award and honor books, The Newbery and Caldecott Awards: A Guide to the Medal and Honor Books 2014 Edition gathers together the books deemed most distinguished in American children's literature and illustration since the inception of the renowned prizes. Librarians and teachers everywhere rely on this guidebook for quick reference and collection development and also as a resource for curriculum links and readers' advisory. With an easy-to-use stsreamlined look and format, the 2014 guide features: * A new essay by Sylvia M. Vardell on the history and development of poetry for young people; * Explanations of criteria used to select the winners; * Updated bibliographic citations and indexes for the award winners. This perennial guide for locating information about the best in children's boosk is valuable for every collection.
Call Number: Z1037.A2 N495 2014 (SG, TU)
In the Words of the Winners by Winners of the most respected prizes in childrens literature speak out in an exclusive collection of acceptance speeches, culled from the archives of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and The Horn Book magazine. Featuring authors and illustrators selected during the past 10 years, the book includes speeches by Neil Gaiman (Newbery 2009) David Wiesner (Caldecott 2002, 2007) Kate DiCamillo (Newbery 2004) Each speech is accompanied by The Horn Book review of the winning title and a biographical profile of its celebrated creator. Three insightful introductory essays examine changes in youth publishing during the last decade, rounding out an engaging glimpse at the originality of the writers and artists whose work informs the direction of childrens literature.
Call Number: Z1037.A2 I52 2011 (SG, UMCP, TU e-book))