LibGuides at Priddy Library: SPED 637 Inclusion for the Classroom Teacher: Databases & Articles

Towson - Featured Databases

Education Research Complete - TU This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Professional Development Collection - TU This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) - TU
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators. Includes topics relating to instruction (including art) and professional development.

Towson - Additional Education

Academic Search Complete - Towson - TU This link opens in a new window
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database - TU This link opens in a new window The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources. Reviewers include book authors, librarians, writers and editors, teachers, children's literature specialists and physicians. Each month Children's Literature features interviews with children's book authors and illustrators, including each month several sets of themed reviews. (CLCD was previously known as Children's Literature Reviews.)
ERIC- EBSCO - TU This link opens in a new window Contains materials in all areas of education and at all levels from preschool through college. Provides citation and abstract information from over 750 educational journals and related documents from the Educational Resource Information Center educational symposium report literature dating back to 1967. Also includes full text ERIC Digest records, along with references for additional information breakdown of the 16 ERIC clearinghouses.
JSTOR Education - TU This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
MAS Ultra: School Edition (EBSCO) - TU This link opens in a new window Contains full text for more than 460 popular, high school magazines. Full text is also available for 50,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print - TU This link opens in a new window "Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments...All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts."
Primary Search - TU This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for elementary school libraries and contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. Materials in this database: Articles, K-12 Resources
PsycINFO - TU This link opens in a new window Contains journal citations and abstracts in psychology and related disciplines.
TeachingBooks - TU This link opens in a new window TeachingBooks includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities. To make a personal account for creating booklists and saving resources, click Educator Login and sign up with your student or faculty e-mail.

Databases at USG

Education in Video
more...less...
Online streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. More than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms give education students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles.

Education Source - UMCP This link opens in a new window Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).
Encyclopedia of Education - UMCP This 8 volume encyclopedia set provides a comprehensive overview of education within the United States and throughout the world. With over 850 cross-referenced entries, the entries address such items as K-12 education, higher education, international education, educational policy and legislation, learning and instruction, teacher preparation and testing. In addition, the encyclopedia has 121 biographical sketches of influential educators. Vol. 8 provides detailed entries for court cases, legislation, and international agreements, as well as a substantial index.

International Children's Digital Library
more...less...
The International Children's Digital Library Foundation is the world's largest online multicultural repository of children's literature.

Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts (EBSCO) - UMCP
Indexes and summarizes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and book reviews on linguistics and its sub-disciplines.

Beyond Towson and USG

InterLibrary Loan Service
more...less...
The ILL department helps provide you with those full-length materials not available in our local Cook Library collection or in our state university system (USMAI). ILL can also be used to obtain shorter-length materials (i.e., articles and book chapters) from other libraries in USMAI and beyond – usually in electronic format.
Google Scholar

Journals

Journal of Special Education Technology
2004 to present (EBSCOhost Education Research Complete)
Journal of Special Education
1975 until 2008 (EBSCOhost Education Research Complete)
Multiple Voices for Ethnically Diverse Exceptional Learners
2007 to present (EBSCOhost Education Research Complete)
Exceptional Children
1951 to present (EBSCOhost Education Research Complete)
Focus on Exceptional Children
1994 to present (EBSCOhost Professional Development Collection)
Teaching Exceptional Children
2001 to present (EBSCOhost Education Research Complete)
Young exceptional children
Journal of Early Intervention
2006 to present (EBSCOhost Education Research Complete)
Gifted Child Quarterly
1999 volume 43, issue 1 to present (SAGE Premier 2014)
Learning disabilities research and practice
2001 to present (EBSCOhost Education Research Complete)
Most recent 1 year(s) not available

SPED 637 Inclusion for the Classroom Teacher: Databases & Articles

Databases at Towson - Special Education

Towson - Featured Databases

Towson - Additional Education

Databases at USG

Beyond Towson and USG

Journals