Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases at UMBC - Social Work
UMBC - Featured Social Work Resources
Encyclopedia of Social Work
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Social Work is a continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). offering over 400 overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards.
Oxford Bibliographies Online--Social Work
Oxford Bibliographies offer item level overviews and references to important works. Social Work provides an up-to-date place to start research into theory and practice.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) - UMBC
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts current research on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness.
Social Work Abstracts - UMBC
Coverage: Some Full Text
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. The database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
UMBC - Other Featured
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
CQ Researcher Online - UMBC
In-depth reports on national and international topics, including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
PsycINFO - UMBC
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
SocINDEX - UMBC
Extensively covers sociology and the social sciences, including criminology and criminal justice. Select "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" under "Limit your results."
Databases at UMCP - Criminology and Criminal Justice
Criminal Justice Abstracts - UMCP
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains indexes and summaries of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, ...
Databases at UMCP - Law
Featured Legal resources databases
HeinOnline Legal - UMCP
Full-text access to over 1100 law journals; U.S. treaties; the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Reports; U.S. Code; U.S. Statutes at Large; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; Public Papers of the President and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents; and hundred of books considered to be legal classics.
Global Periodical Directory
How do I know if a journal is scholarly (or contains peer-reviewed articles)?
Which electronic databases include this journal?
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, e-journals, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters. Covers more than 900 subject areas. Includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Scholarly vs Popular Articles