Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSYC 307: Psychology of Aging: How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

An examination of psychological changes associated with aging. Topics include physiological, cognitive, affective, behavioral and social changes.

How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

APA Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented


Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of entry or article. Name of reference source (Vol. number, pp. pages). Place of Publication: Publisher.

Examples:
Home. (1989). In Oxford English dictionary (Vol. 8, p. 324). New York: Oxford University Press.

Ring, A. A. (1997). Real estate. In Encyclopedia Americana (Vol. 16, pp. 213-214). Danbury, CT: Grolier.

The art of architecture. (2002). In Encyclopædia Britannica: Macropædia (Vol. 1, pp. 243-261). Chicago: Encyclopædia Brittanica.

How to cite ONLINE Encyclopedias

APA Online Encyclopedia Entry

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. doi: number

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. Retrieved from name of database.

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. Retrieved Date, from complete URL

Example:
Guttentag, J. Demand clause. In Mortgage encyclopedia. doi: 10.1036/0071458492

Concrete. In Funk & Wagnall's new world encyclopedia. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.

Photonics. In The Columbia Encyclopedia. (6th ed.). Retrieved September 3, 2008, from http://www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1E1-photonics.html