Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- American memory (Library of Congress)
- Teaching with Primary Sources is an engaging, project-based learning program that uses Library of Congress
digitized primary sources to foster student inquiry and personal connections.
- Avalon Project: Yale Law School (Yale Univeristy)
- Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
- The Civil War in America: from the London Illustrated News (Emory University)
- Making of America (Cornell University)
- A digital
library of primary sources in American social history from the
antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is
particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology,
American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This
site provides access to 267 ...
- Making of America (University of Michigan)
- Making of
America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American
social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Scholarly vs Popular
When conducting your research, it is important for you to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Databases are used to find and identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of documents.
Journal articles are usually referred to as "scholarly," while magazine articles are commonly considered "popular." Consider these points when differentiating between journals and magazines.
Academics/researchers and professionals
Experts and/or specialists
Journalists and/or freelance writers
Editorial Review/Peer Review
Journal editorial board and peer reviewers.
References/ Works cited
Databases and Journals
- Academic Search Premier
- [mobile version]
abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles
for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100
- African-American Poetry (LION)
- African-American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
- America: History and Life
- [mobile version]
on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and
Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000
international worldwide. Includes links to full text of selected
- ATLA Religion Index
- [mobile version]
abstracts and indexing for articles, essays, and book reviews in over
1550 journals and multi-author works dealing with religious and
theological scholarship. International in scope and language coverage.
Covers all types of ...
- Black Drama: 1850 to Present
of full-text African-American plays written from the mid-1800s to the
present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the
Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes extensive
indexing, production and performance information, images and more.When
- Black Thought and Culture
- Contains full text and bibliographic information about the black community and its leaders, from the 1700's to
present times. Includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches,
interviews, and other publications. Contains many never before
published materials. Most significant, for the first time ...
- HeinOnline U.S. Federal Legislative Histories Library
Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories Database (1789 -2002) is
derived from the looseleaf publication /Sources of Compiled Legislative
Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles,
and Books/. All compilations for major laws are included in the
database with the ...
archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and
sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all
articles published prior to the most current five years.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
full-text database that provides comprehensive coverage of the African
American experience. Updated quarterly, the online collection contains
scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources, subject
entries, film clips, images, maps, charts, tables, web sites, and
timelines. The ...
- Project Muse
- Full text
of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers.
Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual &
performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender
studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade
- CD available at Reference Desk, McKeldin Library.