Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 361: Primary Resources

Dr. Andrew Nolan

Useful primary resources

African American Newspapers
This collection of African-American newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and contains first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day pertaining to African Americans.

American Memory
Gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States including text, photos, books and manuscripts, sheet music, and video and sound recordings.

American Periodicals Series
Full text images of over 1,100 colonial and early American magazines and periodicals spanning from colonial times to the mid 20th century. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 (and eventually back to 1836) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as ...

Documenting the American South
Digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature,  and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

Early American Imprints
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a full-text searchable digital database of over 138,00 English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials, “ from books...

Harvard University Library Open Collections Program
Virtual collections of thematically linked material selected from numerous Harvard repositories. Each collection is easily searchable on the web.

New York Times Historical (1851-2005)
The New York Times Historical (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800)
Published in Philadelphia 1728-1800, the Gazette provides a first hand-view of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic. Articles cover events worldwide. The Gazette printed the texts of many important documents, including the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution.

Periodicals Index Online
Access to 4,500 arts/humanities & social science journals published since the 19th-century in 40 languages, on 37 key subjects, e.g., architecture, archaeology, area studies, business, law, & linguistics, containing a full-text archive to over 300 periodical titles and direct linking to JSTOR.

Washington Post Historical
The Washington Post (1877-1988) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.