LibGuides at Priddy Library: UNIV 301: Introduction to the University: Databases & Articles

Select UMBC Databases

Academic Search Premier - UMBC
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more.
America: History and Life - UMBC
JSTOR History - UMBC
National Newspapers (Proquest) - UMBC
Oxford Reference Online - History - UMBC
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)

Primary vs Secondary Sources

Scholarly vs Popular

Understanding Scholarly Sources

Global Periodical Directory

How do I know if a journal is scholarly (or contains peer-reviewed articles)?
Which electronic databases include this journal?

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory

Easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, e-journals, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters. Covers more than 900 subject areas. Includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Can't find it in the catalog? Submit an Inter-Library Loan (ILL)

InterLibrary Loan
The Interlibrary Loan Service allows patrons to request materials needed for their research that are not owned by UMBC.
ILL is available at no charge to current UMBC faculty, students and staff. However, a cap may be set on the $ amount requested for payment.
Although Interlibrary Loan gives you access to many more resources, it may take longer than other means of access. The average delivery time is 5-10 business days. Always start your research early for the best results. You may want to contact the Reference Desk for assistance in locating other in-house or online materials.

UNIV 301: Introduction to the University: Databases & Articles

All UMBC Databases