Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business News & Market Research: UMBC resources
Business Source Complete - UMBC
Indexes over 3300 journals and magazines on all aspects of business going back to 1896. Includes almost 1100 peer reviewed titles. "Company Information" provides detailed data for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following: Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present, Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present, New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present, Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present, Washington Post: 1987 - present
Access news: major U.S. and world newspapers, broadcast transcripts, foreign language publications, premium blogs and Twitter® feeds, and foreign language publications. Includes business information: company profiles and dossiers; SEC documents.
WestlawNext Campus Research
Legal, news, and business-related information, including Federal and state laws and court cases, full-text newspapers, trade journals, and magazines.
Researching Individual Industries (NAICS codes)
Market research in the United States is sometimes easier to do if you know the official classification codes of the industries you care about. The North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) is a series of 2- to 6-digit codes. The U.S. government uses the codes as an organizing system for collecting company data. The links below will help you find the NAICS codes that are important for your project and access research using these codes.
Market Research: Limited access databases
If you need additional company information, you can access these resources through the Priddy Library computers. You will not be able to access these through a laptop/wifi connection.
Provides industry market research reports on U.S. industries, US Specialized Industries, China Industries, Global Industries, U.S. Risk Ratings, and U.S. Business Environment Profiles.
Access private and public U.S. and international business data, among them : company annual reports, industry reports,ratios, news, facts and figures.
Full-text reports on a wide range of market research studies, analyzing market sizes and trends, market segmentation, consumer attitudes and purchasing habits, opportunities, weaknesses and the future of the market.