Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles--General Science Resources
These are more general science databases. It will probably be helpful to search these regardless of your project topic.
Academic Search Ultimate
This link can provide a gateway to all EBSCO databases. It's also a good general database and a great place to start searching. Provides access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines, book and film reviews, and newspapers.
Inspec provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature. Coverage includes journals, conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports.
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective information from 7,100 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers.
Emerging Technology Trends
Access the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Searching for Patents
A guide from the UMBC library
MIT Technology Review
A leading resource for journalism on emerging technology trends across disciplines.
technology news, tech policy analysis, breakdowns of the latest scientific advancements, gadget reviews, software, hardware, etc.
A hybrid collection of professional and amateur journalism, access a limited number of articles each month for free. Contains a lot of useful content in certain technical disciplines.
The Washington Post
If you read more than your allotted # of articles access the Post through the "National Newspapers" link found in the Business and technology section of this guide. The best source for a mix of local, national, and international news & events.
Specialized Scientific Resources
Many of the resources listed here are more specialized by discipline. For this particular project, they will only be useful on a limited set of topics.
ACM Digital Library
Search across journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings (including USENIX), newsletters and special interest groups (SIGs) in the Association for Computing Machinery's Digital Library.
ACS Electronic Journals
Search all 35 peer-reviewed journals and other publications of the American Chemical Society. Journals cover 7 core chemistry categories plus 8 additional categories.
Topics: chemistry, biochemistry, chemical neuroscience, industrial & engineering chemistry, physical chemistry, food chemistry, inorganic chemistry, and medicinal chemistry.
Compendex (via Engineering Village)
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports.
Journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical standards related to computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields. Published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
More than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes peer-reviewed articles, case reports, and clinical trials.